General

Five Things

A quick post on 5 things or thoughts at the moment.

1. I am currently reading The Handmaid’s Tale, it’s disturbingly parallel to the news of today’s world. I’m completely hooked!

2. Bullet Journaling – I love the room for creativity and possibilities in this book. So far I’ve created a page for my books I’ve read so far this year, wardrobe capsuling for the seasons, writing an overview of the month, tracking my hiking, etc

3. Pay Yourself First – Not to brag, but I had an awesome public school experience growing up. In high school economics, I learned the concept of “Pay Yourself First”, a practice I carried well into adulthood. Throughout the years, I’ve been teaching people this concept too.

You don’t know what Pay Yourself First (PYF) is? It means you Pay Yourself First by puting away money from your paycheck to your savings account. The rule of thumb is to pull out a minimum of 10% of your gross pay into savings — it must be the first thing you do when you get paid. So this means before you go shop for groceries, pay bills, fill up your car — put out 10% to your place to your savings account. The savings can be used for certain things such as an emergency fund or a big project. This practice helps make savings a priority, create a plan, and developing good financial habits. On one end, some may say it’s not enough to save for their study abroad trip — but those few dollars do add up. On the other end of the spectrum, some may say “you’re kidding me?” Can it be painful? Yes. Can it be unsexy like paying bills? Yes. But the times we’ve needed it, it’s been a blessing.
4. Thrive Global – I love the mission statement. It’s inspiring going through the blog and learning all these tools and techniques have a wonderful read this week.

It’s been a rough month as far as (work) load goes. I want to focus on finding opportunities to thrive next month in May. I’m going to start fixing the burn out epidemic starting with myself.

Thrive Global’s mission is to end the stress and burnout epidemic by offering companies and individuals sustainable, science-based solutions to enhance both well-being and performance. Recent science has shown that the pervasive belief that burnout is the price we must pay for success is a delusion. We know, instead, that when we prioritize our well-being, our decision-making, creativity, and productivity improve dramatically. Thrive Global is committed to accelerating the culture shift that allows people to reclaim their lives and move from merely surviving to thriving.

5. Let my husband cook some nights – that is something to be grateful for. It’s a bonus that he is good at cooking most of the time.

20170423_144641
Koda’s got a haircut!
Leave a Reply

