General

5 Things…to do to other than social media

I decided to make this week’s “5 Things” thematic and decided to gear it towards things I can do not related to social media. I was inspired by this post on Thrive Global.

I confess, times I’ve been burnt out from social media because there’s so many outlets nowadays. I do a bit of social media on my job and I do get sucked into the numbers games not only at work, but also in my personal social medias. I am not against social media at all for either personal or work life. It’s a wonderful tool to share information and build community within hobbies and industries. But once in a while having a break is the healthy thing to do. Having a list of things to “unsocial media” yourself is a checkpoint on what you can do instead of mindlessly going streams of social media feeds and focus on enjoying life. At the moment, instead of social media I should…

1. Read a book

I am addicted to tracking my Goodreads Challenge. This year my goal was to read 30 books and it looks like I am well on my way. I am currently at 13 of 30 books. Should I start changing my goal? Or maybe I’ll wait when I get to 30 books and create those read goals by then. This would lead me to my next point…

20150524_143914_zpsgcgxihiq

From The Last Bookstore

 

 
2. Apply for grad school

…if I get in, would I even have time to read for pleasure? Though I am on a roll with my reading, I’ll keep the number conservative for now.

But yes, you heard that right. After how many years since I’ve been out from my bachelor’s, I decided to go back to school. I wasn’t sure if I really wanted to go and if this program I chose was a good fit for me.

A little part of me felt I was going to school because I was just going through the motions of just going school. I’ve met students who finished undergrad who want to pursue their Masters or second bachelors degrees and I’ve met Masters graduates who want to pursue a second Masters because they want to build up “more professional skills.” They don’t really specify the professional skills, but I believe you can build those professional skills at the workplace regardless of education background. How? By receiving constructive criticism from your colleagues and wherever in life. Not just grades.

What changed my attitude about going to grad school? When I attended the grad school open house last weekend. I gained more from that open house than expected. I felt empowered and found my reason to go to grad school. I learned the faculty wanted to hear how a prospective student can contribute to program rather than coming saying “what’s in it for me?”

3. Blog

Having a blog is a wonderful outlet for me to share my writings, pictures, and occasional (attempt at) illustrations. Social media is addictive and all about that instant gratification, but blogging to me is timeless. I feel (lifestyle) blogs are like a lifelong portfolio to track things in life that are important to you such as cooking or family time. In my case, I want to track how I have not just progressed as a blogger, but as someone who cooks, writes, photographs, learns, and lives.

4. Work on my yard

This is enough to keep me busy. *sighs*

5. Plan that upcoming Pacific Northwest trip

This trip is happening next week. I’ve got an outline but nothing too detailed. I need to look up some hiking trails!

Are you trying to “unsocial media” yourself? What hobbies or activities are you doing to keep your away from social media?

2 thoughts on “5 Things…to do to other than social media”

  1. J’ai beaucoup apprécié la lecture ce cet article, c’est amusant, car par certains aspects, je m’y suis un peu retrouvé.
    D’ici de Toulouse, en France, c’est bien agréable de trouver des pensées et des écrits qui nous réunissent par delà les mers 😉
    Je m’abonne, vais suivre avec attention ce blog et j’aurai grand plaisir à rebloguer vos articles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

