Seattle building old
travel

Photo outakes and lessons learned from the Oregon and Washington trip

Warning this is a picture heavy post. These are photos I haven’t gotten a chance to post and some lessons I learned from my trip.

Nick Grimm House
Saw Nick’s house from Grimm at Portland!

1. Reminding me that I work to live, not live to work.

Before vacation I haven’t been quite living these past few weeks. I felt that taking a . I felt foggy these past few days. I’ve been working hard on living but I felt the world wasn’t really letting me. I needed to get away and press that “reset” button. Quick weekend hikes weren’t really quite doing it. I was so busy, I felt like I was in water up to my nose and I couldn’t get out of it unless I took a vacation and got away.

When I came back to work, I felt refreshed, I felt more productive. I felt I came back knowing better in managing my energy and time. I need to remind myself I should treat my hours of the day like my daily bank account and it’s up to me how I spend it. We spend about (more or less) 8 hours of sleeping, (more or less) 8 hours of working, and another (more of less) 8 hours how you spend your time whether it’s commuting to your job, learning, blogging, recreation, etc. You notice it’s split in 3 reserves and I feel it’s easy to carry over and compromise. For examples, you decide to sacrifice 1 hour of your recreation time to get that 1 extra hour of work and you continue to do so everyday until you get to that breaking point. It’s not healthy. It’s not sustainable.

2. Not a stitch of makeup needed during  course of the trip. That’s what I love about vacation.

20170603_131754_zpsxtbrcgsg

3. During the trip, we learned the U.S. declared on withdrawing from the Paris Agreement. That is AWFUL. Do you really want to get rid of all this?

4. My friend we saw in Portland said this best: when traveling you get to observe all the things they are doing right and what they are doing wrong. What they did right:

  • Cleaner air
  • Blue skies
  • Trees, trees, trees — greenery everywhere!
  • Pedestrian friendly neighborhoods  (then again, we stayed near the city center in Portland. In Seattle, as we stayed in with my husband’s cousins in the suburb where there not a lot of pedestrians around)

5. Guilty, I did check my work phone.

Maybe that notice that my work phone couldn’t access my emails due to a server problem on Wednesday, it may as well have been a sign to STOP CHECKING MY WORK PHONE.

Seattle building old

6. Take notes from friends who have been to the city and locals on recommendations and detestations.

If you still want to try something out that they don’t recommend, go for it so it removes the allure. For examples,  in Portland there were food carts (it’s like food trucks but not mobile). Our friend told us to avoid them because they’re not that good while portland Locals were completely obsessed with food carts. This disparity piqued our curiosity. Verdict: We had Indian food and we were not impressed. It was overwhelmingly bland.

7. This may have been a domestic trip, but it doesn’t hurt to carry along your passport. We could’ve gone to Canada…

8. Lastly, we needed an extra week! If we brought our passports and went to Canada, it could have easily been a 2 week trip.

20170601_150359_zpsdmcuynr3

20170531_132752_zpsyyqjvizw20170528_165432_zpswzagtmms

3 thoughts on “Photo outakes and lessons learned from the Oregon and Washington trip”

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this superb blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this
    site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

