Hike

Hike 25/52 – Exploring around the Lake House

Date: July 1st
Neighborhood: Lake Nacimento
Difficulty: 2 out of 5
Weather: Hot
Distance: 1 miles (out and back)

During the 4th of July weekend, we stayed at our friend’s parent’s lake house in Paso Robles. It’s nice…and it’s in the middle of nowhere with no cell phone reception unless you have an extender.

I decided to spend the afternoon to walk around their property and walk as far as I can along the dirt road until I say a sign to stop. It does not take me very far going down the dirt road.

Of course the puppies came along!


The vacation house was very nice and well…enormous. It made me think, “would I ever have a vacation house myself?” Most likely not. Why would I go to the same vacation home every long holiday weekend. If I needed to be home, I’d stay home for a stay-cation. For travel, I’d like to think AirBnB gives me access to vacation homes all around the world. Ideally, I’d like to spend my long holidays elsewhere to try out a different scenery, a different pace of life temporarily. What I love about AirBnB is that I get a small piece of “day-in-the-life” elsewhere that I would never get in a hotel full of concierge services and contintental breakfast.

Would you consider getting a vacation home yourself?

2 thoughts on “Hike 25/52 – Exploring around the Lake House”

Leave a Reply

