General, Uncategorized

The Real Neat Blogger Award

I’ve been nominated for another award by Benjamin Lessard for the Real Neat Blog Award. Thank you so much for the honor! Please come by and check out his blog. He writes far beyond his years. When I was 15, I vaguely wrote about crushes, gossip and a lot about school. A very unhealthy amount about school assignments from Shakespeare to Steinbeck, trigonometry to calculus. I took French in high school and to practice my French, I wrote some posts in French. A lot of my classmates also wrote on blogs (remember Xanga?) and it was all those same subjects too and of course, grades and college acceptances.

For Ben, he writes with a lot of insight and observations and he even writes poetry! Keep up the great work, Ben!

real neat blog award

Here are the rules for the “Real Neat Blog Award”

1. Put the award logo on your blog.
2. Thank the people who nominated you, linking to their blogs.
3. Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
4. Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
5. Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog, etc).
6. Ask your nominees 7 questions.

Answering Benjamin’s questions:

1. What is the main reason as to why you started blogging?

Since 15 years old, I’ve been blogging on and off. Unfortunately as soon as I hit college, I pretty much stopped blogging all throughout my college years because I knew all I was going to do is talk more about school. In retrospect, I should have still written a blog even if at the time it would be signficantly less posts. I restarted when I was 22 and had a blog for a few years and stopped. Now I am rebooting the blog again and I hope it stays. Building a supportive community definitely keeps me around!

2. Explain one personality trait that gets you into trouble sometimes.

Stubborness.

3. What is your proudest accomplishment?

When I changed careers.

4. Who inspires you?

This may sound corny, but my dogs and my husband. As soon as I come home after a long day and see them, all my stresses to my day melts away. They center me. We don’t talk about work; we make and eat dinner , watch TV, plan for the next event/trip/whatever. When people ask me, “how do I do it all?” I tell them, “I’ve got dogs and a husband.”


5. If you could have chosen a profession other than your own, what would it be?

Another silly answer, an actress! I’ve had friends and classmates push this idea for years. When I was in my senior year of college applying for full-time jobs for my post-graduation plans, I’d get asked “If you don’t get into any full-time jobs, would you consider acting?” My logical head rejected the idea and thought, “I’m graduating with a neuroscience degree…to become an actress?” Growing up I’ve done my fair share of theatre, but I never considered it a full-time career. At the time there was not a lot of Asian representation in the entertainment industry and that was a big turn-off for me. If there are any Asians who are seriously considering a career as a actor, now is a good time. Earlier this year were worldwide open casting calls for “Crazy Rich Asians” because they were looking to encourage more Asians to get into acting. They realize there’s not a lot of Asian actors out there and that’s refreshing.

6. What item is at the top of your “bucket list”?

See the Northern Lights.

Definitely not the Northern Lights! This was a light show in Santa Monica back in 2008. This picture was taken with a flip phone!

7. Share with us your favorite author?

There’s so many but let’s stick my old favorite, Cormac McCarthy. The first book I read was All The Pretty Horses back in senior year of high school. Other work are The Road, No Country for Old Men, and Blood Meridian. Another author I like is Ken Kesey — I love One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

My nominations go to…

  1. Something to Ponder About
  2. Simply Kailin
  3. Rose Hunter
  4. The World is a Book
  5. Writing for Me

My seven questions to you are…

  1. Why did you decide to have a blog?
  2. What is your most proud accomplishment?
  3. I’m hosting a potluck, what dish would you bring?
  4. What do you when you are not blogging?
  5. Where are you from, and what is the most common stereotype or misconception about your home town/state/country?
  6. Name three, free things that bring you joy?
  7. Would you rather live in a big city or the rural countryside forever?
6 thoughts on “The Real Neat Blogger Award”

  1. Congratulations and thank you so much again for the nomination! you really deserve it.. I always love reading all of your posts and they continue to become more and more interesting with time! 😀 as for the dogs inspiring you, that’s not corny at all. You enjoy spending time with them and I’m sure they would inspire me too if I were there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

