Books

A study in relationships with “Gone Girl”

“There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.”

gone-girl-book-cover

I finally got around to reading Gone Girl this year. I know…if you’ve seen the movie, I am 3 years too late and if you read the book, I am five years too late. Most of the time, I don’t read the latest book because I already have a high to-read stack as well as a high current reads stack. Yes, I do read multiple books. There’s always a book in my bag. I have a kindle in my purse which handy in bus commutes, a book in my backpack which is handy in train rides and business flights, an audiobook on my phone which keeps me entertained when doing chores, and 2 books on my night stand to read a few pages before bed.

Also, I am glad I took my time to wait for Gone Girl — both the movie and book hype to die down. I wanted to rid the opinions my friends planted me whether it was the book or movie. It was long enough for me to have my own thoughts and no confirmation bias.

“We weren’t ourselves when we fell in love, and when we became ourselves – surprise! – we were poison. We complete each other in the nastiest, ugliest possible way.”

As always, I want to share my thoughts without giving too much away. To me, it is more than two stories shared by two perspectives: one is unreliable and unlikeable, the other is intelligent…and unhinged and drags us for the ride. I felt this was a wild study (I mean it in the most extreme cases) of marriage. A book about he said, she said. A book about knowing the real person you’re marrying. It reminded me of the many situations where long-time couples finally moved in together to then break up a few months after. I don’t think the act of moving in changed the person, I think you saw the person you did not see all this time.

“Friends see most of each other’s flaws. Spouses see every awful last bit.”

I listened to the audiobook version and it kept me entertained when I was cleaning up our yard on the weekends. You may not get Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike to voice Nick and Amy but that is fine. I thought the person who narrated Amy sounded like one would imagine a spoiled, sheltered rich girl.

Also, the Overdrive application on my phone has been fantastic! I get access to loads and loads of audiobooks for free. It has certainly made my chores more enjoyable.

Recommendation: I recommend this book to the people who like to read what everyone is reading. Also if you are interested in the unconventional female tropes. There is certainly no pixie manic quirky dream girl here.

Have you read Gone Girl? What are your thoughts?

Wild Eclectic Book Club (Name in Progress): I am trying a blog series where every other Wednesday I review a book from my ever-changing Current Reads page. The hard part about writing these reviews is as much as I want to share what’s in the book, I don’t want to give anything away.

Leave a Reply

